Where to complete prereqs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nontrad17

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'll try and keep this as short as possible. I am beyond frustrated to the point that I thought I was going to have an anxiety attack this afternoon. Just that feeling that everything you worked for equated to nothing.

I'm 24, and I graduated college as a marketing major. Why I want to go into medicine is a long story, but I am 1000% certain this is what I want to do.

I found out that most med schools look down on completing your prereqs at a community colleges or online. I can't afford a post-bac or pathways program. I wanted to complete my prereqs online with American public university. They are an accredited institution, lab components are included with each class, and they aren't expensive! I already took Bio 1(B+) anatomy and physiology (A+) , genetics (C+) , and physics 1 (A+) ( all with lab) at a community college. I took those classes when I thought I wanted to go to PA school. PA seemed more practical since I wasn't a traditional student, but I didnt continue on that path because I thought I was short-changing myself. Now that I want to pursue medical school, I'm not sure how to get these prerequisites. It seems either way I am not going to look competitive.

We all know this is a huge financial, emotional, and physical investment. I don't want to make the wrong decision and become 1. Without a career 2. Broke 3. Wasted so much time

I want to stick to schools that are in the Philadelphia/ south jersey area because I am the caregiver of my grandparents (they raised me) and I can't go too far. However, I know Temple confirmed they don't accept online classes (even with lab) nor do they like community colleges. What is a girl to do?!?! I don't know which route to take given I'm so non traditional.

Other stats:
Emergency room volunteer: 200 hours
Shadowing hours: 80 hours