SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Where's the '08 crowd?

Discussion in 'Physician Scientists' started by meowkat444, May 2, 2007.

1. meowkat444

meowkat444 10+ Year Member

Mar 10, 2007
    I *know* I'm not the only one lurking around here applying this summer. 2008 applicants introduce yourselves! With any luck we all might run into each other anyway... Where are you applying? What are you interested in?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. marctam86

marctam86 registered user 10+ Year Member

Jan 4, 2004
    count me among the 2008 applicants! im a little overwhelmed now, with my mcat happening on the 25th. im interested in infectious disease research, among other areas. im also praying my lack of clinical experience doesnt doom my application. should be an interesting year!

oh, im a NY resident, dreaming about cornell, columbia, and nyu, but am planning to apply broadly

4. mtlove

mtlove 2+ Year Member

Oct 22, 2006
    I am most likely applying this year. I am taking the MCAT in a couple weeks, and then it is hard core application time. I have not finalized my list of schools yet, but I am applying broadly and to quite a few schools. I currently have no real preference on a school or location.

I am interested in MCB programs, and I will probably do something in this area with a neuroscience focus. I have not made an MD applicants profile yet, but here are the basics:

2006 graduate of a LAC with an average GPA

Research experience:
    3 yrs of independent research at my college: have a few posters and no pubs. I will have a paper from it, but I do not think my PI has plans to start it in the near future (a major con of doing research at a small LAC).