Which LOR's to use?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ahd929

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
a few of the schools i'm applying to ask for 3 - and only 3 - letters of recommendation, including 2 from science profs. i have collected (using interfolio) 4 letters. two of them are from science profs from my post-bacc education over the past year and a half. now the question is: what do i use for my third letter? my choices are:

1. a letter from my undergrad professor and mentor. i haven't taken a class with him since 2001, but i've known him my entire adult life (7 years) and we are still close 4 years after i graduated. i took a total of 6 classes with him, and he supervised my undergraduate thesis. he is a good friend and i know he has written me an outstanding letter - glowing, specific, tailored to my personal statement, etc.

2. a letter from a doctor whose lab i've been volunteering in for the past 8 months. i rarely actually see him around the lab, and he essentially admitted to me when i asked for a letter that he would submit a marginally personalized form letter on my behalf.

so, you see my dilemma. one is recent and relevant, but lukewarm. the other is older but everything a LOR should be. anyone having this same issue? anyone want to weigh in with some advice? thanks! :)

Members don't see this ad.

I would go with #1. A so-so letter from a doctor pales in comparison to a thoroughly personalized letter from your professor/mentor, IMO. Adcoms want letters from people who know you well - the doctor in #2 seems more like an acquaintance than someone who you would want to write a LOR.

Off topic - you're in Columbus and are a Michigan fan?! How many bullets have you dodged during football season?? :laugh:

shiraz84 said:
Off topic - you're in Columbus and are a Michigan fan?! How many bullets have you dodged during football season?? :laugh: