Which master’s degree os a better choice if you plan to work in industry/improve your career as a pharmacist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

YuzuSoda

Reaction score
I graduated with a bachelor in pharma and now I'm working as a retail pharmacist. I was wondering if working as a retail pharmacist. I'm planning to complete a postgraduate degree and work in industry someday. my other choice is master in health science MHS and there is MPH but i was hesitant to apply for it so basically my choices are either 1.msc in pharmacology 2.MHS 3.MPH. I'm seriously lost so I'm asking for your advice guys. Ps: don’t tell me a postgraduate degree is useless because now i’m in a situation that offers me an opportunity to do it. Thank you for reading my post.

Members don't see this ad.

Neither of the 3 options you mentioned...

MSCS offers the best ROI to my knowledge. A master's in computer science offers nearly unlimited job opportunities across any industry you can think of these days. If you want to stay in retail, CVS and Walgreens are always hiring software engineers and data scientists. If you want to switch to pharma/biotech, they are constantly hiring and struggling to retain IT talents. If you want to try real engineering, go and work for the likes of Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, 3M, etc. Financial institutions and banks also offer countless job openings for software engineers and analysts. Lastly, Epic Systems and many hospitals are ALWAYS hiring software engineers to develop/maintain their EHR and IT systems. If you are really good, FAANG is also a possibility...

If you already have a PharmD, why wasting $$$ and time on another healthcare-related masters? Do something better. Unless you get a serious PhD, nobody really cares about those wishy washy paper-pusher degrees that often don't worth the paper it’s written on...

Reactions: 1 users