Which schools should I apply to?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Thebeyonder

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I have a 3.0gpa overall.
I have a 2.65 science gpa overall.
My last 40 science credits have been
a 3.98 gpa.
My last 90 non science credits have been
a 4.0 gpa.
I messed up a few years ago and have
tried to make up ground.
I am a CT resident.
I am thinking of applying to UConn,
BU, Tufts, UIndiana, Nova, Umich, Creighton,
Uminnesota, and ULouisville.
Are these appropriate?
Any I should not apply to?
Any I should add?
I haven't taken the DAT yet, so I guess
if you have any suggestions based on the
stats I have now I would appreciate it.
Tim.

------------------
tb

Members don't see this ad.

I think some of those state schools are very selective to residents. But if you want to live/practice in those states then by all means do it. I selected schools based on location and cost. Location, I think is key. If you want to practice in the northeast then go to a school that is NERB oriented. I would try to get into UCONN if I were you; not only because its your state school and thus cheap but also has a great reputation and provides an awesome education.
I think you have proven you can make great grades, and your gpa shouldn?t hurt your chances. I have heard it?s actually a bonus to pick up your grades like you have. But I would make sure that those schools you applied too look carefully at your application. I have a feeling that they sometimes just look at the gpa and DAT with out looking at the rest of the application. This might be a problem for you, so call them and make sure someone knows your true numbers.
And the DAT will be a huge factor, obviously. So just ace that darn thing and you should be all set.