Which SMP should I attend?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

femme

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm trying to decide which SMP is right for me... I applied to Boston, Georgetown and Rosalind Franklin and was accepted to all three. As of now, I'm trying to pick between Georgetown and RFU.

Here's whats on my mind:

Georgetown has a great program, exciting location and good reputation as a med school. Top 20ish students with 3.5+ GPAs get interviews for Gtown Med.

RFU has a good program, suburban setting, is on probation (? not sure of the details), but historically, anyone with a 3.0+ can matriculate into their med school.

Any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a current student at the Georgetown SMP and I might be going to RF next year for med school, so here are my thoughts:

If you just want to get into any medical school, ie. would be content with an acceptance to RF, I would go there because it seems like an easier program with an almost guaranteed acceptance assuming you can do decently well. Don't worry about the probation, it is in the process of being fixed. A number of schools have been in this situation before, and many more will reach that point in the future. If you are looking to the more competitive specialties or to other medical schools, Georgetown is the better way to go because it is more nationally know amongst medical schools and Georgetown itself does very well for the competitive specialties. FYI about 50 people interview from the SMP class not 20, but just getting to that point is pretty difficult.

Also, consider the locations. Georgetown is in quite possibly the best part of DC whereas RF is about 45 minutes outside of Chicago. This will affect your social life/cultural experiences. Hope this helps. Good luck.