Which T cells form memory T cells

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Spectar

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Question on memory T cells;

I understand that memory T cells are formed similar to memory B cells (after T cells are exposed to an antigen). Which T cells form the memory T cells?

It probably wouldn't be the suppressor T cells that form memory T cells right?
It must be either Helper T cells or Cytotoxic T cells or both but Im unsure which.

Members don't see this ad.

Question on memory T cells;

I understand that memory T cells are formed similar to memory B cells (after T cells are exposed to an antigen). Which T cells form the memory T cells?

It probably wouldn't be the suppressor T cells that form memory T cells right?
It must be either Helper T cells or Cytotoxic T cells or both but Im unsure which.
I'm not really good at immune stuff, but I'll give it a shot.
1) Innate vs. Adaptive.
Innate=kills anything that looks funky=not specific to a particular pathogen/antigen (quick)
Adaptive=specific=targets certain antigens/pathogens
upload_2016-8-30_8-9-14.png

2) Cell-Mediated Immunity vs. Humoral Response
Humoral Response (B-lymphocytes=WBC from the bone marrow)
Our body has crap ton of B-cells with different variable regions on their membrane-bound antibodies. Let's say you get infected by VirusA. Eventually, one of these B-cells will latch onto the epitope of the virus(or we can now call antigen) and the B-cells will become activated, which will make them replicate very fast either into memory cells (stick around a long time with the perfect variable region to that epitope) or into effector cells (these are factories that spit out the antibodies, which become free into your plasma that can circulate in your body to bind to the VirusA) These free antibodies essentially mark the VirusA (a process called opsonization) which allows phagocytes to eat them up.