Who In Your Family Is A Doctor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

• Total voters

IWant2BeADoctor

License to Matriculate
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score

What have they said about Medicine? And how has it influenced your choice on being a Doctor.

Well no one my family who is a MD or DO in my family but my dad has a PhD from Yale. All he's said so far is that if he had to do it all again he would be a MD instead of a PhD.

As for me I've only been interested in being a Doctor during my College years. Simply because I never really seriously considered what I wanted to be until I was Sophomore year of Undergrad.

Members don't see this ad.

What the hell happened to siblings

my mom has an associates
i have an uncle who has a bachelors

that's the extent of education on both sides of my family..

my girlfriend is getting a PhD and her dad is an MD, though

Members don't see this ad :)
No one. My family seems to be composed of either teachers (my mom's side), or engineers (my dad's side). My dad is a dentist, though. He is a doctor (albeit not a medical doctor) and my mom has a BBA.

My mom and aunt all got their MDs and decided to head into benchtop research instead. They actually warned me about clinical medicine and how it's not for everyone.

No one. My family seems to be composed of either teachers (my mom's side), or engineers (my dad's side). My dad is a dentist, though. He is a doctor (albeit not a medical doctor) and my mom has a BBA.

Wow! My mom was an elementary school teacher and my father was an electrical engineer. :eek:

Wow! My mom was an elementary school teacher and my father was an electrical engineer. :eek:

Haha, are you my cousin? :laugh: Trust me, I wouldn't know, I have too many to keep track of them.