Why are Residents called Residents

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jhonny depp

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Why are residents called as residents.??
One patient thought I lived in the hospital 24-7 and wanted to know where was I when her son was vomiting at 2 AM in the morning. I politely explained I was not a resident just on call.
I have been a resident for 6-7 years now starting from internship- general surgery - Cardiac surgery and finally I hope for the last time GI Surgery
Regarding teaching of us residents (presuming it exists) why does it has to start with a question...
What is the cause of??
What are the findings ..
Why do you say this..
Is this the real teaching. Does a consultant comes and say
"I ll tell you why pain of Acute pancreatitis goes to the back."

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Why are residents called as residents.??

Because residents did used to live in the hospital, or hospital housing at least. Hence the term "house officer".

One patient thought I lived in the hospital 24-7 and wanted to know where was I when her son was vomiting at 2 AM in the morning. I politely explained I was not a resident just on call.

I have been a resident fond finallr 6-7 years now starting from internship- general surgery - Cardiac surgery and finally I hope for the last time GI Surgery
Regarding teahing of us residents (presuming it exists) why does it has to start with a question...
What is the cause of??
What are the findings ..
Why do you say this..
Is this the real teaching. Does a consultant comes and say
"I ll tell you why pain of Acukte pancreatitis goes to the back."

Because people are used to being spoonfed and given the answers.

Members don't see this ad :)
It started with Dr. Halsted at hopkins who said that if you want to become a surgeon you have to be at the hospital 24/7 taking care of the patients, hence the name "resident".