Why did you apply there?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

clawsbeatskin

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
The "Ohio State pluses" thread got me thinking...why is everyone applying to their prospective schools?

Members don't see this ad.

I only applied to Mizzou as I'm an in-stater there and my husband didn't want to change jobs. Well, now he hates his job and now I wish I went to a school with a more holistic focus like Colorado State. :rolleyes: Ah well, suck it up and soldier on...at least I won't be as in debt, right?

Well, I knew I didn't want to apply to that many schools because it would cost a lot of money and I knew that I could narrow it down. Then I spent a lot of time looking at which schools would even consider me (I'm a NYS resident). Next I went through and saw which ones had ridiculous requirements (Georgia was the only one that required the bio GRE, so I wasn't going to take it, and Purdue had a lot of prereqs that I couldn't get at my undergrad). Then when I had 6-7 schools I narrowed it down by which ones take the most out of state students.

I knew I was going to apply to Cornell (state school), Penn (because I know way too many people who went there), and then the rest were just whether or not they fit the requirements. My friend went to OSU and liked it, Illinois had a lot of things I liked (particularly their disaster relief efforts) and CSU is a longshot school, but awesome because it's Colorado and has a dual degree program that I would be able to apply to as a first year.

So, yeah, my basic idea is I'll be happy regardless of where I go, so I might as well not make myself go crazy just applying (vet school is for going crazy, or so I've heard...).

Members don't see this ad :)
I applied to NCSU, my instate school and also where I got my two BS degrees.