Why do dental schools want to know where I am applying to?

daisies

10+ Year Member
Sep 4, 2005
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
This question is on several supplemental applications: "Please list all the dental schools to which you are applying this year." Why is that important? Any ideas?

djeffreyt

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jun 4, 2006
Dallas
Status
Dentist
they're nosey.

it depends. As a west coast student, I've heard east coast schools will look at the schools you applied to and if you have really good scores and applied to several California schools, they will assume you'll get in at a west coast school and stay in California or Oregon, so they don't bother with you.

Just a rumor I'm sure, but it's so much fun to fan the flames...

reapply2007

10+ Year Member
Jun 23, 2006
Status
Dental Student
I had a friend last year get in at UW and CUD. Both schools asked where would you go if you got into your top x schools. I presume he lied to one of them since CUD got the prize.

About the Ads

nightsleep

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Feb 17, 2006
Status
Pre-Dental
djeffreyt said:
they're nosey.

it depends. As a west coast student, I've heard east coast schools will look at the schools you applied to and if you have really good scores and applied to several California schools, they will assume you'll get in at a west coast school and stay in California or Oregon, so they don't bother with you.

Just a rumor I'm sure, but it's so much fun to fan the flames...
it does happen...another example is if you have good stats and you apply to your own state schools in addition to out of state schools, the out of state ones will assume that you got into your own state school and won't bother with you.

aurora507

10+ Year Member
May 18, 2006
Status
Pre-Dental
nightsleep said: