Why do some residency interviewers only ask one or two questions?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

badskittles

Membership Revoked
Removed
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN users,

I was wondering why some residency interviewers ask literally 2 questions and then will open up for questions?! At times, for a given program, there would be only two interviews and each about 20 mins each. But, some of these interviewers would barely ask any questions!?

In addition, I have been explaining why I made a drastic decision to switch from applying to psychiatry to IM in my fourth year given that my fourth year rotations are mostly psychiatry rotations. Would this come off as bad?

Wanted to hear your thoughts on the matter, thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Because canned questions are boring but need to be asked just so they have a standard answer to compare to other applicants.

The interview is an opportunity to talk about yourself, gas yourself up.

Reactions: 1 user
They're human beings and they might not be up for an extended interaction with a stranger at that particular moment. Sucks but its the honest truth. Back when I did residency interviews, we did 10-12 interviews per day. "so what questions do you have for me?" might be the first words out of my mouth in the last few sessions unfortunately.

Sometimes the criteria for being an interviewer is having a pulse and being available, regardless if they're actually any good at interviewing or actually interested in it. Been on both sides of the "warm body" interview where the interviewer is there cuz someone else is suddenly unavailable. That interview doesn't move the needle one way or the other and is probably a waste of time, but hey you're there and someone has to talk to you.

Members don't see this ad :)