Why is beta lactamase an inducible enzyme?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

doctor_p

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
It's been written in my Microbiology textbook, that
"Pencillinase (or Beta lactamase) is an inducible enzyme."
Now, what is the use of it being an inducible enzyme?
Taking the example of lac-operon (which is an "inducible" operon), it works only if lactose is present in the medium and it actually "enters" the cells. Its "incoming" acts as a stimulus.

If we apply the same logic, it means that the penicillinase enzyme production can be induced if Penicillin actually enters the cells.
Now, if penicillin has entered the cell, it means that the cell has died. And if the whole cell itself as died, there would be nothing left for it to induce!

(I am an undergraduate - first year, so please answer accordingly.)

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

youre a freshman in undergrad but felt a medical student status was applicable to you?

youre a freshman in undergrad but felt a medical student status was applicable to you?
I'm in a medical college. What else should I call myself?
I'm not from the US. I don't know whom you call an undergraduate there, but here, a medical student is the one whose name's been enrolled in a medical college.

Members don't see this ad :)
Now, if penicillin has entered the cell, it means that the cell has died. And if the whole cell itself as died, there would be nothing left for it to induce!

This is probably where your reasoning went wrong, for two reasons:
1. Penicillin acts on cells that are growing/dividing. If a cell isn't, then it has a window to induce beta-lactamase before starting to grow and divide.