Why Optometry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MaseratiGT

Legilimens!
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey!

I see some threads on this topic, but they are quite a few years old. I "heart" optometrists, so I am curious how and why you all got interested in this field of medicine?

Members don't see this ad.

You're a podiatry student?

Why I love/chose optometry?
- work environment
- I work for myself
- help people (you can't really do this with other careers). So it makes me feel good.
- respectable career
- time for family and personal time after work
- no emergency calls in the middle of the night and no midnight shifts like some other medical field.
- salary (for a better living situation; to be able to afford things faster than if I had a $30,000 salary + family; to be able to afford medical care; and financially less stressed than people with lower incomes).

Yes, I am a Pod student. All about the feet.

I'm aspiring to be "The Todd" of podiatry. :)

It's interesting to see why people really like what they do and how they came across it. :)

Members don't see this ad :)
Just curious, why are you asking this in an optometry forum? Are you asking this in the optometry forum only or are you asking it in other sdn forums also?

Optometry is my first choice as a career. Podiatry was my second choice for a career but I changed my mind recently when I read and saw a gross procedure. I have thought about chiropractor but haven't read much about the career to know enough about it in terms of years of schooling and other specifics.

You're a podiatry student?

Why I love/chose optometry?
- work environment
- I work for myself
- help people (you can't really do this with other careers). So it makes me feel good.
- respectable career
- time for family and personal time after work
- no emergency calls in the middle of the night and no midnight shifts like some other medical field.