Dec 20, 2020
Hey y’all,

I am currently an undergrad student on the path to vet school. I am interested in a career in wildlife conservation medicine/pathology and I am looking for advice about career prospects and seeking opportunities in the field. I am currently working in a wildlife disease lab at my university (not exactly doing research but assisting grad students and occasionally vets) and really enjoying it but I would also like to get some field experience and research experience. Outside of contacting professors/vets and job boards, are there any other ways to find out about opportunities? And are there any wildlife/pathology vets on here that could provide some insight about what the career involves on a day to day basis? (What do you enjoy/dislike about your job?). I would appreciate any and all information or advice!

Reactions: 1 user

WildZoo

Illegal in all 50, Unyeetable Wolf
7+ Year Member
Apr 18, 2013
The doll factory
Status (Visible)
  1. Veterinarian
I don't know any wildlife vets around SDN specifically, but I do know several irl. I'm a vet and PhD student in the wildlife health department at my school, my mentor is a wildlife pathologist, my labmate is on that trajectory. So, not quite *in* that career but I'm adjacent to it.

If you're already involved in research that's great! Use that connection. If anyone connected with your lab ever does field work, ask about opportunities to tag along. Ask about getting more involved in the actual research, or even taking on your own project. Every lab is different of course, but my PIs always encourage our undergrad workers to think about taking on their own projects. Many of them have gotten publications out of it.