Will completing an accelerated master’s degree actually benefit my application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FriendlyMicrobes

Reaction score
Hi—

I’m currently a 4th year undergrad at a large state school Studying microbiology. I currently have about 1500 hours of research in the lab I work in (with independent projects and a mid/high IF mid-author pub) and will probably add another 700 or so in the coming school year. I plan to take gap years after I graduate and do research. I want to work at the NIH irta because my lab has many collaborators there and my PI wants to help me get a position there. I want to attend an MSTP although I think that my GPA might be a limiting factor for getting accepted at one of the better programs. I had an aimless first year and a half at school with not knowing what to do with my degree when I was done and didn’t really understand that you need fantastic grades for grad school (Stupid me:/), and didn’t do great (around 3.1). Since working in research and really liking it, I have picked up my grades and gotten 3.8+/term for the last year and I believe that I can boost my gpa to a max of about 3.56 So I will have a strong upwards trend.
My conundrum here is that I really like my lab (gut Microbiome) and I have the option of doing an accelerated masters in microbiology with a really cool project that would definitely lead to a first-author pub in probably a strong journal. It would only take 1 year to complete the degree but there is no funding for tuition so it would further burden my student loans...