Will I get in .. anywhere?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GuitarFreak

Private Practice
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone
I still have about 2 semester left at undergrad. My current GPA is 3.59 and I think it might go down just a little bit. I have taken my MCAT once and got a 24, and I plan on taking it again.

I have done a summer long, full time internship at a doctor's office where I did everything a medical assistant does, except giving shots etc which they are certified for, and I got a decent amount of doctor shadowing as well. I also had three MDs write recommendations for me.

I am also a musician and have done a lot of shows around the country including charity shows, and have done work as a sound engineer and produced music for a few bands, so that would hopefully look good on the app as an extra curricular.

I am also doing research at the Dept of Immunotherapy at a hospital affiliated with the medical school I wanna go to, and will continue to do it for a year.

I do not, however, have any volunteer experience. How important is it to have done volunteer work?

Assuming I graduate with a 3.5 and score a potential 30 on the MCAT (which is always an impossibility as well as a possibility), how would my app look and what kind of chances do I have?

Thanks guys

Members don't see this ad.

We need to know your state of residence. Then it will be easier to determine whether you will get in...

I go to school in Connecticut and am a resident of the state

Members don't see this ad :)