Will I get in somewhere if I apply broadly?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

njk58nj

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
renderTimingPixel.png

Im a reapplicant for this upcoming cycle. I completed a SMP last spring and I applied to a handful of DO schools. Im a NJ resident. I have taken the MCAT twice during undergrad and both have expired: 498 and 493(Jan 2016-will expire soon). Below is the GPA that AACOMAS standardized. I finished with a 3.6 GPA but it was brought down to3 3.5 because my school does half step grading.
undergrad overall gpa: 3.17 undergrad science GPA: 2.84 Graduate GPA: 3.53 Graduate Science GPA: 3.49 Overall GPA(because Aacomas combines undergrad and science gpa: 3.24 Overall science: 3.05).

I have been studying for MCAT retake for May and shooting for 500+ to apply for DO schools.
I have research and clinical experience from going to global brigaes in Honduras, presenting a poster presentation in Undergrad, and working as a scribe for the past 6 months. Should I be fine to apply to DO schools this upcoming cycle if I apply to more schools obviously and broadly? Its disappointing that AACOMAS averages my undergrad with graduate gpa because I have trouble meeting cut offs for overall science gpa for certain schools.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Did you get any interviews last time? And how are your practice tests coming? You can't have another stain on your MCAT record and REALLY need to knock this out of the park. Unless you're sure of a STELLAR MCAT you might want to delay... unless you have a good backup from being a doctor.