Will I match?? Confused, Please Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cooliomedy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm a med student who plans on entering Rad Onc after match 2012, I'm totally confused about what I should do, here is some info bout me....please tell me if I have a chance and what I can do to make my app better!

Step I: 249, Step 2: need to decide to take early or late
School Rep: Non-existent, combined undergrad/med school
AOA: recently applied, top 25% of students were invited
GPA: 3.92
Honored Clerkships: OB/Gyn, Internal Med, Peds, Psych (high pass in surgery :(
Research: 1 abstract in non-rad onc (pathology) and 2 presentations (1 at school research day and 1 at experimental biology), plan to start another radonc/med onc case report next week
-Lots of community service activities, volunteer at amer cancer society hope lodge
-No home rad onc program

Currently on a rad onc rotation in town, plan to do 2-3 aways (one already scheduled at MD anderson)

Do I have a chance?
Should I take step 2 early and study hard to get a score in the 260s? will it help?
Its hard to get research started and I know how important it is, will I be able to on away rotations and will I have time?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone,

I'm a med student who plans on entering Rad Onc after match 2012, I'm totally confused about what I should do, here is some info bout me....please tell me if I have a chance and what I can do to make my app better!

Step I: 249, Step 2: need to decide to take early or late
School Rep: Non-existent, combined undergrad/med school
AOA: recently applied, top 25% of students were invited
GPA: 3.92
Honored Clerkships: OB/Gyn, Internal Med, Peds, Psych (high pass in surgery :(