Will MD residencies accept only COMLEX scores?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vietcongs

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a 3rd year DO student seriously considering OB/Gyn. I'd like to know, in general, will most residencies accept only the COMLEX? Also, as far as class rank and board scores, whats the average that you need to apply to OB/Gyn residencies? Thanks in advance!!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm in the application/interview/waiting-game now. So, far one program has rejected my application to OB/GYN because I did not take the USMLE. I'm still waiting to hear from a few other programs about interviews...I'm unsure if the USMLE vs. COMLEX will be an issue???

Good luck to you.

Yes, many M.D. programs will accept the COMLEX only. E-mail the programs that you are interested in and ask them if they will accept the COMLEX. Go to the APGo_Org site and then to the residency directory and it will give you the average board scores at individual programs. Class rank is very hard to standardize and I haven't seen this info. anywhere. If you are interested in OB/GYN go for it. Good Luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes, many M.D. programs will accept the COMLEX only. E-mail the programs that you are interested in and ask them if they will accept the COMLEX. Go to the APGo_Org site and then to the residency directory and it will give you the average board scores at individual programs. Class rank is very hard to standardize and I haven't seen this info. anywhere. If you are interested in OB/GYN go for it. Good Luck!

I can assure you people have done this; gone through the 'grunt labor' of searching out individual residencies and seeing if they 'take' the COMLEX. It takes 4 million man hours.