Will seeing a psychologist hur your application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sikesalt

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
For some reason I thought I read here once that seeing a psychologist or psychiatrist will go on your record and hurt your chances of getting into medical school (i may be mistaken). Does anyone know if this is true? It sounds rediculous to me. It has been a tough year and I was thinking about seeing a psychologist. It nothing serious however that I need to do.

Members don't see this ad.

why would seeing a psy ruin your chances? That is sooo stupid.

Future MD, come now... I majored in psych too, let's not get overly defensive... after all, the only stupid question is the one that goes un-asked, right? ;)

Anyway, as for your question, it is really a two-parter:
1) Can they find out?
2) Will they try and find out / Can it hurt me?

As for #1, I can give you the information that I know. As long as you see a psychologst or psychiatrist in private practice there is no way for anyone to find out from your therapist because they are bound to confidentiality as per the rule of the doctor-patient relationship. There are two caveats to this, namely if you check into a hospital with a psychiatric emergency or if you have insurance pay for it. In either case, there will be records showing your medical need for counseling that are outside of the control of your physician (be it either the hospital or the insurance company), and they may give it out to others (such as your Med school) without your expressed consent and without violating any laws.

As for #2, I don't honestly know. I sincerely doubt they do, because I know a handful of people who are currently attending or who have attended top medical schools who were seeing therapists throughout most of their college and graduate careers.