Withdrawal Concerns

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CW89

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I just recently found this website and browsing it has shown me just how helpful and insightful all of the input is. Please let me know what you think of my problem and give me a bit of advice. Sorry about the long post.

My major issue is with withdrawal. I withdrew late in my third semester from all of my classes. I had already audited two of my science/math courses and was doing horribly. The story behind this is that I was horribly depressed and apathetic because in July I had personal problems due to a harsh break-up of a long term relationship and in September my father passed away. I was lower than I had ever been before. Just recently I have begun to get treated for my clinical depression, which is worse than it ever has been before.

To be honest I just recently decided to take pre-med and my future seriously, although I began taking pre-med courses at the beginning of my college career. I am currently a sophomore with about a 3.5, but I have put no effort into it yet and just recently began to see medicine as the career for me. This semester I transferred into a better school (it was arranged before I withdrew) and have been performing about the same as I was before withdrawing. I'm doing well but will probably be retaking O-Chem again in the summer because my retention has been poor and I will get a C or D.

I feel that I will be able to strengthen myself through 3 years of research, volunteering and clinical experience and I think i can get my grades up to a 3.8 by the end of undergrad. I am majoring in Philosophy, Genetics an Russian Language.