Work during med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

possible to work during med school?

• Yes

Votes: 16 18.0%
  • No

Votes: 38 42.7%
  • Really really tough but I guess so

Votes: 35 39.3%

• Total voters

Dog&CatLover

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone successful?
I am a first year student. Currently, I am tutoring high schoolers both online and in person and love it! It’s flexible hours, as many or few as i want each week. I’m currenlty doing 8-10 hours a week.

Do you think be able to make it work all 4 years? Do you think there is a better source of income during med school? What else did people do?

By the way, don’t say don’t work... I have substantial debt from undergrad and a lot of illness in my family so I need to be working at least a little unfortunately.

(By the way, DM me for a referral, they are hiring... $50 for me and you if you do even one lesson).

Members don't see this ad.

Worked 10-20 hours a week during med school and residency. Work for myself. I don’t see how it would be possible or worth it unless you are self employeed, work from home, and can earn minimum $50/hour for your effort. Any one of those three things not true then you prob should just focus on school. Setting your own hours is also essentially mandatory. Payoff will come later. While the finacial comforts have been nice, it has come at a huge cost and in retrospect huge risk.

Reactions: 3 users
Anyone successful?
I am a first year student. Currently, I am tutoring high schoolers both online and in person and love it! It’s flexible hours, as many or few as i want each week. I’m currenlty doing 8-10 hours a week.

Do you think be able to make it work all 4 years? Do you think there is a better source of income during med school? What else did people do?