Working in the US

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medicuk

5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello there,
I am currently a medical student in the UK and i really want to work in the US when i graduate, but i am just a bit concerned about how well recognised my degree will be. I am at Newcastle University. I know you have to pass exams (USMLE) to work in the US but does where you got yur degree from affect the chance of you getting jobs over in the US? And also, is it ture that the grade you get in the USMLE determines where you get a job?

Thank you lots!!

Members don't see this ad.

medicuk said:
Hello there,
I am currently a medical student in the UK and i really want to work in the US when i graduate, but i am just a bit concerned about how well recognised my degree will be. I am at Newcastle University. I know you have to pass exams (USMLE) to work in the US but does where you got yur degree from affect the chance of you getting jobs over in the US? And also, is it ture that the grade you get in the USMLE determines where you get a job?

Thank you lots!!

You have to complete a residency in the US in whatever field of medicine you want to practice - your USMLE score determines where you can do your residency and in what specialty, meaning that residency programs are selective and use USMLE scores, UG grades, and letters of rec. to make their selections.

For further information about US residency training, check the following links:

http://www.ecfmg.org

http://www.nrmp.org