Working while entering a second bachelors/postbacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

seikilos

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, long time lurker.

Have a lot of questions to bother everyone with regarding my personal/academic situation but currently I want to reach out for any info for making it through these next two years.

Assuming I can find appropriate full or part time work, I want to know what people's experiences are with employment while a premed/pre graduate student.

I'm looking to start classes in the fall at a pretty fair priced college in the city.

I have a solid management degree(and debt) from a top tier business school where I hold some pretty thorough experience in my field, but my heart belongs to medicine and research after these past few years. I can't imagine doing anything else and want to follow through on this.

I've estimated my finances using my own excel spreadsheets and David Ramsay's everydollar.

Monthly at worst it may be around $750-1200+ for my rent/housing with other various costs, up to $600 for transportation and upkeep, $400 for food, $85 for my pet, up to $300 to $750 for healthcare(mostly physical therapy copays and assorted treatment), and $150 for personal spending(necessities only), $7 for subscriptions(apple music and icloud).

That's assuming $0 toward anything frivolous or related to a "lifestyle" like entertainment/travel/dating, or paying debts at 27 (75k in the hole with student loans, 50k in medical debt thanks to questionable surgeons playing god and 4/5 PT's half assing my care), or specifically current expenses related to postbacc education(expecting at most 20k a year, but am going to do my best to finance this through loans and do everything possible to the costs down including scholarships and honors programs if possible) -- as well with savings, or investments, and the like.