Worries

Flaming_mad

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well hey! Im a british medical student and have been reading through quite a few of the forums; I found this particular one about 'Spouses and Partners' particularly helpful because my own relationship and the effect my medical career is going to have on it has been troubling me a lot recently.

Ive been with my boyfriend- also a medic but the year above me- for nearly 2 years (2 years in Nov). I love him very much and he makes me very happy :)
Obviously with the course we are both doing i cant help but think of the future. This next academic year Im going to be over 300 miles away from him (i have one more year studying in scotland) before I can join him down in England- Manchester for our clinical years. So this next year will certainly be trying! But I think we'll work through it.

What troubles me is even when I am in Manchester I wont be at the same hospital as he- and in the following years when we are in the hospital literally all the time as part of our training we will never have time at all to see each other. (my hospital placement could be miles away from him).

Ive approaced the subject of maybe moving in together- at least then we could come home to each other. But he gets so nervous when I mention anything about the future- he doesnt see us living together anytime soon at all. And it really gets to me; I mean Im going to need someone there (as will he)- for emotional support and such like and Im worried that being far apart and not being able to see much of each other is really going to put a strain on each of us- make us both very miserable, and thus lead to the inevitable. At a time when we are both very vulnerable and stressed with out careers!

I mean if I were to take things to the extreme; is it a good idea two people remaining together, when at an early stage they know they want different things from the relationship?I am very worried by all of this!