Would appreciate some advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopeful313

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am new to sdn forums. I am currently a junior at a state school. I am planning to pursue the MD/PhD track. I would like to know if I am competitive enough to apply this cycle or wait for the next cycle. My stats are below

Degree: Double degree in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
GPA: 3.5 (currently, will expect to graduate with a 3.6 gpa)
MCAT: 37
Research experience: 3 years (since freshman year). I have 3 publications. Two are middle author publications, and 1 first author publication in JBC. I am also working on a second first author manuscript, which I hope to submit in a month. I am very interested and passionate about the research I do.
Shadowing/Volunteer: I have volunteered with school related activities, and I currently volunteer at the VA hospital, but I just started this semester.
I have shadowed a physician last summer, but that is as much clinical related activities that I have done

I would like to know if I am competitive enough to apply to top tier programs and mid-tier programs. My top two picks that I really wish to go to is Columbia Univeristy and UPenn, as I am interested in working in a couple of labs at those schools.

I looked at the sticky thread, and that I do have two excellents, and one ok. The questions that is concerning me is that will my gpa hurt me a lot.

If I take a year off, I will be able to acquire more publications. I do not know if this will help me or not.

I really appreciate the advice and suggestions. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

The questions that is concerning me is that will my gpa hurt me a lot.

If I take a year off, I will be able to acquire more publications. I do not know if this will help me or not.