Wound Care Training/Treatment

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Momentum70

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in an underserved(limited physicians) area which can have problems when trying to get specialty services. We have a wound care clinic, but it can be tough to get patients into it, or limited in how often they can be seen when they are set up. I'm at an IRF and I always have a few patients here with stage IV pressure wounds, post surgical wounds requiring wound vacs, etc. Our wound care nurse isnt bad, he is self taught and been doing the job a little over a year, but mainly just does a lot of dressing changings, nothing like sharp debridement. We also have a few therapists that have done pulse lavage in the past, but currently not allowed as there is no physician oversight.

So a few questions I have and thought here may be a good place to start.

1) Do any PMR docs here do wound care, or have you heard of PMR doing it?

2) Any suggestions on where to start for training, im thinking along the lines of courses/conferences etc?(I have below 0 interest in going back into a fellowship type of a job)

3) Can it be billed when a person is inpatient? Im thinking worse case scenario if I was to do it, then may change some of my level 1 and 2s up to 3s based on time billing.

Thanks for any help

Members don't see this ad.

You can take a wound care course to help with knowledge. Pretty much any doctor can get board certified in wound care if you meet the minimum requirements. If you want to do wound care surgery and debridement I would personally do more training or let a surgeon handle it. If you end up making a wound worse then you will get fried.