Write a Personal Statement without Much Volunteering?

Dr Gerrard

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 16, 2009
Status
Medical Student
I don't have much volunteering. This is my applications biggest weakness.

I have leadership in an organization that cleans up the nearby forests, put up signs, make maps, etc. This is my most extensive volunteering.

I also volunteered at the hospital last summer for about 4 hours a week. Here, I helped out with mostly administrative stuff.

I am a personal tutor for my organic chemistry teacher's students. He recommends them to me and I help them. I have maybe done this 3 or 4 times though?

I have a bunch of scattered volunteering experiences like going to my nearby community care center for a few hours, but I have maybe done that 3 or 4 times? Not nearly enough to be significant.

Side question 1: how do I put these scattered experiences on my application?
Side question 2: Should the PS be about why you want to be a doctor (ie what you want to do) or about how the things you have already done show you will be a good doctor?

Main question: although you don't come out and say "i want to be a doctor to help people," it seems like one of those things you have to at least somewhat imply. How do I do this if I haven't done anything formally? I mean I would always stay after class to help anyone who needs help, people would call me late at night before exams and I would go over and help them, etc.

Dr Gerrard

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 16, 2009
Status
Medical Student
PS I know many might say that I need to take a year off and get some of this, I am set on not doing this. I have great numbers and I believe my other ECs are also good.

roseglass6370

Are we there yet?
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jun 24, 2008
Status
Other Health Professions Student
I haven't applied yet, but I'll give you my take: