yet another application cycle bites the dust

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mommy2three

PGY-1
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
and i have nary an acceptance letter in hand :(
this just plain sucks. :(
okay the first time around my main problem was applying to east coast schools with under a 30 mcat...ha yeah like this midwestern gal was getting in there.
but this year i have discovered some thing. i knew i was a long shot with what happened at the smp at franklin last year and having a grad gpa of 2.88, and indeed it was an issue. no i did not fail a class i passed them all but when you put me against someone coming from a traditional grad school who would have had a higher gpa i was at a disadvantage....i knew it needed to be above a 3.0. and then apparently my volunteer experience was a problem. i worked as a volunteer with a womens and childrens shelter as an on call advocate who repleid to hospitals for cases of domestic violence and sexual assault. apparently i found out this year from an admission rep i talked with about what i could do to improve my chances next year that although this was semi related medically wise they did not view it the same as if i had volunteered at the hospital itself.
so i have taken steps to remedy these two things this year. i have been taking grad classes and after this semester will have my gpa above a 30 grad wise...so one obstacle out of the way. i also started volunteering recently at the local hospital so the other obstacle out of the way.
i am thinking i may take kaplan up on their offer to come back and teach starting this summer...so that would be yet anotehr change to my application.