You Guys Will Hate Me..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OneWizzle

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know people might have asked this before, and I did search around, I just have my own version of the question - and I'd appreciate it if I could get some answers.

I am in Community College working on my general education classes, but am very interested in Pharmacy. My problem is I'm not great at Math, nor am I good at the Sciences. I could probably get by most classes with satisfactory grades. I haven't taken any Phsyics classes, or Calculus, to know how I'd do in them, but I can tell you now, those classes aren't my thing.

What I'm asking is, do you think, although I'm not good at these courses, that I'd have a shot at Pharmacy? I'm not trying to say, will I make it if I never study. Will I make it if I put in effort and study as hard as possible? Some people say you can't do it if it's not in you to be good at those subjects. Others say it's not that difficult and if you study enough, you'll do fine. Is the undergrad courses and Pharmacy school as difficult as it's made out to be? Or will I be fine and survive through it if I put in enough work?

Thank you for any help.

Members don't see this ad.

While I certainly don't think it's impossible, I'm not quite sure why you would want to get into pharmacy if you aren't good at math or science. Math will be inescapable for the rest of your life. And every pharmacy principle is science based.

It's like a person saying color & texture aren't really their thing and they aren't very good at space planning, but they really want to be an interior designer.

My advice- find out what you are good at. You seem young from your post. Life's too short to venture into a field that will be a lifelong struggle.

I'm almost 20.