Young Pre-Med student w/ a few questions.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pato7

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the forum and I have a few questions to ask. First a little bit of background. I graduated high school in '07 with a 3.7 GPA. I was the one touted as the most likely to flourish in college. Unfortunately, I have done anything but flourish. The first semester went well and I had a 3.0 GPA (lowest grade was a C), but it was second semester when things fell apart. Even thought I had an A in English Comp, I struggled in my other classes and ended up failing Chem I (the first time I ever failed a class). Now my GPA sits at 2.2. I know, not good. I'll admit that it was mostly just because of being lonely. I go to a big school out of state where I don't know anyone (still don't) so that kinda threw me off cause even though I'm naturally shy, I did well in high school because I was interacting with people on a regular basis. I don't know why there's a correlation there, but there is. Anyway, I initially thought it was all over at that point, but after talking with some people, I see that it's really just a minor bump in the road. It'll be an uphill climb, but I'm not completely out of the pre-med game.

Which brings me to today. I've been putting a lot of thought into where I'm going to go from here. I realized that while I can handle the pre-req work for med school, I cannot major in a science and be flooded with the hard sciences all four years. Right now I'm focusing on meeting the university's core curriculum first so I have time to think about the major I choose. I've narrowed my choses to the following:

-Exercise Science: I've had an interest in nutrition and exercise for a while, but from what I've heard, this major is more about learning to be a personal trainer. Just what I've heard.