Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Your job during your undergrad?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by volleywallyMD, Apr 18, 2007.

1. volleywallyMD

Pre-Medical
    I thought I would start this thread to see what kinds of jobs you all had as undergrads. Anybody flipping hamburgers? Anybody making really good money? Any suggestions as to what jobs are better to have as a pre-med undergrad??? :D

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Stolenspatulas

Pre-Medical
    Worked as a Circulation Desk Assistant during the summer before I took the MCAT. Between checking out books and handling requests, I studied for the MCAT.

Worked as a Princeton Review MCAT teacher. GOod money there if you have the time. Med students do this as well... though I think I'll stop.

Worked as a tutor through the ugrad's tutoring program. $10/hr.

Can't go wrong with tutoring/teaching. Find some needy high school kids.

4. MDAdam

Pre-Medical
    Undergrad job? What undergrad job?

I am still an undergrad and have not had a job since my high school years. I will work at an internship this summer which will pay me a stipend. Other than that it would rather hard to juggle classes, extracurriculars, and a job. I have a lot of respect to those of you who can maintain a job and be a premed. We did not pick the easiest career path.

5. greytmedic

greytmedic Faster than you

Resident [Any Field]
    Firefighter/Paramedic

6. Dr.D-man

Pre-Medical
    Phlebotomy has been a great job. Tutoring was nice too.

7. alwaysaangel

Resident [Any Field]
    I paid my way through undergrad so I always had a job.

One year I was a cashier at a coffee shop. Then I was a tutor at a middle school. And my last two years I worked as an office assistant (this was the best gig - paid like 12.50 an hour and it was easy, fun, and you occaisionally got free time or study time).