Your Opinion

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IWontStopBelieving

Reaction score
Hi, I hope all is well!

Here is a summary of my Pre-dental Stats. Please take your time to look this over and let me know what you think.

- Cumulative Undergrad GPA: 3.10

- Science GPA: 2.9

- Just graduated undergrad (Spring 2020). Earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology.

- I have slightly over 1000 hours of
experience in the field of dentistry (Includes dental assisting, pre-dental internship through SHPEP, volunteering, and shadowing)

- During my time as an undergrad, I was the President of the Physics Club and the Vice President for the Pre-dental Club.

-
I Failed the DAT: ( First Attempt, I set time aside to study for an entire summer until an unexpected situation occurred and took all of my summer time. I took the DAT during a school semester )
* Academic Average -14
* Biology -15
* General Chemistry -16
* Organic Chemistry -10
* Perceptual Ability -14
* Quantitative Reasoning -14
* Reading Comprehension -15
* Survey of the Natural Sciences -14

My first time applying ( Varied based on school deadline, August 2019 - March 2020 ) DAT average 14, Cum GPA: 3.0, Sci GPA: 2.7) Not one interview, which is understandable.

My second time applying ( Current cycle Applying before October 2020). Changes since last application- DAT average ( Taking the DAT August 2020, will most likely get a 24 overall), Cum GPA: 3.10, Sci GPA: 2.9

Members don't see this ad.

"Will most likely get a 24 overall" -- okay buddy. You realize that something like 2% of total scores on the DAT are 24+? Don't get too cocky. In addition, you will likely need to get that science GPA up to at least a 3.0 so you don't get auto-rejected. I would spend the summer taking some science classes to get that sGPA above a 3.0, and study for the DAT as hard as you can and shoot for a 22+.