09/03/2015 MCAT score- 491, what to do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tdeezly

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
MCAT 2015: 123/121/123/124-491 (22%)

I took my first ever MCAT on 09/03/15.
I studied and took 6 Kaplan practice tests, never scoring over a 500, ranging from 489-495.
I took an Next Step diagnostic and scored a 500.
I took one TPR and scored 490.
On the AAMC FL I scored in 50-60% range across the board.

I took a $2,000 prep course, biggest waste of my time and money.

Although my practice tests were not so hot, I was under the impression that the real thing would be much better. The problem was that I got no sleep the night before the exam due to stress (even though I took melatonin tablets prior to bed). Overall I account my score to the no sleep factor because sincerely I felt like I was going to fall asleep in the middle of my exam, it was like I was shot by a tranquilizer.
Now, it is time to try again and aim for a better score because I will be applying in the spring of 2016 to both MD and DO. I am not, nor will I ever consider Caribbean and I have my heart and life set on this goal, I just need to conquer this test to get there.

From high scoring test takers, what do you suggest as far as selecting a new test date, a new study timeline, study materials, etc.

(I have heard the EK and Next Step practice tests are the best indicators of your score?)

I feel like during the exam I lose focus and drift to the point of no return. What suggestions do you have (other than caffeine substances, they just make me jittery) to retain focus and stamina for this exam?

I am not working, just taking classes right now and chances are will be doing the same when test day comes.

Please help :(

Members don't see this ad.