MD & DO 2.98cGPA, 38MCAT (1st time), Good EC's... am I screwed?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dante311

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new. I haven't calculated my sGPA, but my stats are above. I have 2 years research experience that gave me a published abstract and a poster at a conference. I'd like to say my recommendations are strong, I've shadowed enough, I volunteer in the hospital doing misc work, and I've had patient contact through an athletic training internship.

Members don't see this ad.

You have the classic gpa/MCAT dissonance that scares off all risk averse admissions officers. Even with a great explanation you will have a significant challenge ahead (if you make it past the auto-screen).

Last edited by a moderator:
Doesn't really matter if you are the president of _____ (fill in whatever you want) if you get automatically screened out for <3.0 gpa (At least that's what I think.)
Hopefully your actual GPA is over a 3.0 but if it's not, take/retake one/few classes to get it above a 3.0gpa.
Good mcat though.

Members don't see this ad :)
You have the classic gpa/MCAT dissonance that scares off all risk averse admissions officers. Even with a great explanation you will have a significant challenge ahead (if you make it past the auto-screen).

Out of curiosity (and perhaps for the sake of future readers), can you please elaborate on why this dissonance is so scary? What are some assumptions that might be made by the adcom? Thanks!

Out of curiosity (and perhaps for the sake of future readers), can you please elaborate on why this dissonance is so scary? What are some assumptions that might be made by the adcom? Thanks!
In medicine we have something called a differential diagnosis.
What are the likely reasons for this unusual pairing of data points (gpa and MCAT)?

Last edited by a moderator: