3.0 GPA Lots of Extracurrics, Author on publication

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MercifulDoc

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a fourth year student at a top Canadian University.

I currently have a GPA breakdown as follows:
First year - 1st semester: 3.0; 2nd semster: 3.0 GPA
Second year - 1st semester 3.85 GPA; 2nd semester: 3.79 GPA
Third year - 1st semester 3.10; 2nd semester: 2.4 (my father died suddenly)
Fourth year - 1st semester: looks about the same as last semester did; 2nd semester - I plan on getting a 3.7 - 3.8

I know at this point Medical school is out of the question, but maybe if I do grad school I will have a shot at a University like U of T? Also I really don't want to do DO and really want to get an MD. I would like to know what options there are for me to get into a Canadian school. My MCAT is 33R.

I know I could have gotten higher in 3rd year first semester but I got depressed, started chasing girls, stopped focusing so much on school. My marks went to **** in second semester of third year because my dad got diagnosed with brain cancer, and bam a month later he was dead.

In fourth year I lost all hope of getting in -- hence my first semester marks, but I realized it is something I really want and would like a new chance at it. Is there a way for me to stay in Canada, get into a Canadian med school? The amount of time/work does not matter to me. I will do whatever it takes.

I have 1 publication (3rd author) and am working on a fourth year thesis that may get published. I have started a kickboxing club at my university, volunteered in the hospital for 256 hours.

Please help.

Members don't see this ad.