A Little Guidance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DRAD1S

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I’ve been having thoughts for the past couple of years as to whether I should pursue medical school and wanted to get some suggestions. First, a little about me…

I graduated with an undergrad in Finance and a final GPA of a 3.06. (Nothing stellar by any stretch of the imagination.) My last two and a half years in college I saw nothing but A’s and the occasional B but my first year and a half really sunk me. (I’ve worked full time to put myself through school and I just didn’t balance work/school that well my first year.) I plan on volunteering at the hospital a couple of weekends a month just to get a better feel for it but I’ve shadowed a local doctor and am passionate about pursuing this. I’m planning on taking my pre-reqs through a local college and sitting for the MCAT in the next couple of years. I’m 24, married, and have a soon-to-be 2 year old. I’m aware of the time sacrifices that have to be made in order to achieve this along with the financial obligations that will be required to support my family and my education simultaneously. I enjoy studying and consistently challenging myself but my primary concern is this being reflected in my lower GPA. I’m confident I can Ace the pre-reqs (BIO, CHEM, PHYS) given the effort that I’m willing to put into this but I was wondering if anyone could give me some insight as to whether this is feasible or if there are other recommendations? Any guidance would certainly be appreciated!

Thanks Everyone!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello Everyone,

I’ve been having thoughts for the past couple of years as to whether I should pursue medical school and wanted to get some suggestions. First, a little about me…