Anyone want to talk about 4th year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Auddy66

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in the process of applying to 4th year's --NOT fun! Anyone want to discuss acceptances, rejections, salaries, interview questions?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm a prospective student applying now, so I don't have much to contribute, but several schools I'm looking at now help students find fourth year placements, make the first contact, etc. This year, all 14 students have already been placed in their first choices. I know this doesn't apply to all programs, does your program not give you any assistance? Everything related to audiology is extremely competitive I'm finding... however, I'm also finding that most who are interested are very passionate, hard working, and competitive so hopefully it won't be too bad!

Reactions: 1 user
My school offers no assistance to its students looking for 4th year placements. In fact, my school offers little assistance in finding rotation sites. I wonder if most schools are helping students get placed in a 4th year externship?

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Our school doesn't really provide a lot of assistance, but I think that's better than getting a lot of help with finding an externship location. It is more like the real world when you have to look for a job, all on your own.

Just out of curiosity for any 4th years or current AuDs (if you remember!), how many clock hours had you already accumulated at the time of your externship applications?

I had about 600 hours when I started applying. I don't know if that is a lot, but it was fairly on par with the rest of my class.