applying as "disadvantaged"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sjmirror

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
my question concerns the AMCAS application that asks about "disadvantaged status". to be brief, i'm currently a sophomore a top private school (HYPS), on basically close to a full ride (need based scholarship). ive taken the mcat already (long story why), and got a mid 30s score, however, my gpa is in the lowish 3.4 range. im indian.

im thinking ahead to the application, having just seen a copy of last year's, and am not sure whether i should put myself down as disadvantaged when i apply. i grew up in a single parent household (father was estranged; dunno where he is now), mom is a computer administrator. my family got food stamps while i was in elementary and middle school, etc, etc, until my mom got her computer programming degree and got a job. amcas' criteria for disadvantaged status seemed to be strictly that - if your family ever good food stamps, welfare, etc, then you should put it down.

i would want to writethis down if it lets the adcoms get a fuller picture of my background, but i dunno if they will think that im no longer "disadvantaged" because of the school i attend; and thus perceive me as dishonest or something. in that case, i would should just not bother and not discuss it at all.

so i guess my q boils down to, that perception is probably a very subjective thing. my siblings have done pretty well despite our background; all went to top colleges, etc. ive done alrite in college too - i even have a summer job now at a biotech private equity firm because of connections ive made in college. these are not the things that typically characterize someone who is poor. yeah, i was hella poor growing up (and still am, actually), but does going to a private school, etc, partaking in all of its opportunities, disqualify me from still writing about my background?