Applying to German medical school through studienkolleg

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

francelow

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all ! I have read through many posts but still unable to find any threads that will answer my doubts.

Here's my story, I am a fresh diploma graduate (equivalent to associate degree in US) in Environmental sciences from Singapore with GPA of 3.0. However, a polytechnic diploma is not equivalent to German Abitur. I had checked about my eligibility for German medical schools and found out that I need to attend studienkolleg in Germany in order to be eligible for Medical school. My questions are:

1. How hard is it to get into M course in studienkolleg ?

2. Do German medical schools conduct interviews or situational tests as part of their selection process ?

3. Do you require voluntarism/ humanitarian work experience or exceptionally good CCA portfolio/resume as part of the selection criteria ?

4. If I completed M course in studienkolleg, will I be considered as the local students application(since I am applying with a german qualification) or I am considered as foreigner application ?

5. How competitive can it gets for a foreigner to get into medical schools like LMU or Heidelberg University ?

I would really appreciate all your advices :)

Members don't see this ad.

Are you proficient in the German language? If yes, then you do not have to attend studienkolleg to my knowledge. In fact, it's the first time I'm hearing about it altogether! In general, German Universities do not conduct interviews as part of their selection process. Like never. Studying medicine is highly competetive in Germany. If you apply as a first semester student, you have to apply through hochschulstart.de . There are many German students who study medicine in Italy, Hungary, Poland etc., because they are rejeted in Germany. I don't want to discourage you.