MD & DO Are my stats alright? Looking at applying for MD schools pretty soon!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

moshady79

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm hoping to apply for MD/DO schools next cycle. I have some ge's but I'm a bit worried about my gpa. So I transferred from a California CC to UC Irvine.. I completed 103 units at CC and left with a 3.34 gpa. My gpa went down hill during my time at CC b/c I was working around 35hrs/week.. I took a few online ge classes at my CC while attending UCI so that I can boost my CC gpa. I graduated UCI last year with a 4.0 overall gpa. My current gpa, including all of my CC courses, is a 3.71 overall and 3.62 bcpm. I studied all of last summer for the MCAT and got a 36. I got a C in 1 semester of physics and 1 semester of gen chem (took all biochem pre reqs at my cc). Im really worried about my gpa lol..

So My ec's includ 100 hours of volunteering at uci er room, an er internship, vice president of chemistry club, 50 hours volunteering at the cast room, 210 hours of volunteering at a student run clinic, and 1 year of on-campus-research (hoping to get a pub soon). I'm also a 1st generation URM (I dont think thats an ec lol). I also speak farsi and spanish fluently

I will apply to 1-2 DO schools. Maybe touro and western U. I'm mainly worried about my chances at an MD school though. My dream school is UCLA but I dont think my gpa is up to par. I'm thinking doing an SMP to increase my chances at the higher- tier med schools or maybe even join the army.

Do I stand a chance at a higher-tier MD school with my stats? Or should I do n SMP to boost my gpa or join the army so that I can add a nice EC?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
You may certainly join the military if you want, but you should be fine with those stats with a good list.
An SMP is contraindicated in your case. It can only hurt you!