Chances for MD and DO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HakunaMatt

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from Rutgers University with a 2.9 (Miserable I know) 2 years ago, and did an SMP program at Rowan University, and will be graduating in December with a 3.77 with a Thesis (Research).

I took my MCATS twice. First time being a 8-PS, 6-VR, 8-BS (22), and retook my MCATS this summer and got a 11-PS, 9-VR, 10-BS (30). I am also an international student, and hoping to apply to a good school. I prefer a school which is in a rural/suburban area, acceptable tuition rates (OOS), small class sizes, and is reputable/recognizable.

I worked as a ER scribe for about 10 months, and am an EMT for almost 2 years, and I am looking to apply to both DO and MD schools. Which schools do you guys think I have a decent shot at, with the preferences I am looking for in the school. Anyone go to such a school that you can relate to with the above prefs?

NJ Resident.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but if you're an international student wouldn't you not actually be considered a nj resident if you're not a citizen/PR of this country? If so, you have no room to be picky as an international student. It's a hard road and not many actually get in. Many won't accept international students at all.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but if you're an international student wouldn't you not actually be considered a nj resident if you're not a citizen/PR of this country? If so, you have no room to be picky as an international student. It's a hard road and not many actually get in. Many won't accept international students at all.