COMLEX I 2nd time

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

StudentDoctorM

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I got a 392 my first time taking the COMLEX I and I realize that I need to do the absolute best I can my second time so that I can at least have some options for residency. I just took the COMSAE B form and got a 431.. which is too close to failing again for comfort so I decided to postpone the exam.

I have done COMBANK almost twice (~70% second time) and also did COMQUEST once (~60%) when I studied the first time. I have watched DIT 2012 videos and completed Boards boot camp Ultra. The COMSAEs tell me that I'm consistently weak in Anatomy, MSK, OMM, Health Care delivery, Management, and Disease Prevention.

The sad thing is the OMM (failed it the first time I took the exam), which is supposed to be easy points.. so I don't know what to do about that. I thought BBC did a good job on OMM, but the COMSAE tells me otherwise.. Other that doing the 4 exams in the back of savarese, I don't know what else I can do for OMM.. what else would you recommend?

Since Anatomy/MSK is a lot of memorization, I'm planning to focus on online flashcards. There are many amazing students out there that have shared their flashcards through Quizlet, Cram, etc. and the few hundred I have gone through so far seem very helpful.

Now the dilemma I have is whether I should do Uworld and Goljan.. I know Uworld is the gold standard for both boards exam, but I've also heard mixed things about how it helps on the COMLEX.. I tend do be very slow at doing questions (max 120qs per day), so if I get UW, it will take me about a month to finish it and I do not know if that will be time well spend or not (Not planning to take the USMLE at this point). would you recommend doing UW in tutor mode?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.