Could use some knowledgeable judgment

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cadenza14224

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

I'm a little new at this so I would love your input.

My story is a bit cliche; I did my undergraduate degree in bioengineering at a decent engineering school. As junior year approached, I was pretty reluctant to continue on with science, as my performance hadn't been stellar (frankly, I graduated with a 3.02).

For all of senior year I thought I would switch fields, and maybe enter into consulting or something industry related upon graduation in 2011. I landed my first job at a biotech company as a manufacturing engineer/IT analyst; wouldn't you know I hated how unsavory and dry of a job it was. Startlingly enough, I was laid off after 4 months since the company was about to be acquired by a larger conglomerate (pity, the money was actually quite good).

During my summers in undergrad I had done research in neuroscience/genetics at a well respected laboratory. Thus I asked them if I could give it another shot, and graciously enough, they let me come back. A couple months in, I began to LOVE research; enough to make me concurrently pursue my masters in biomedical engineering. You can call it an arranged marriage of sorts; not a passionate love story, but built slowly with hard, dedicated work.