Defining appropriate ER visit

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chesca

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I am currently a student intern working at a primary care clinic. I am trying to create a work flow that differentiates between an appropriate vs. inappropriate ER visit. One of the primary goal of the project is to create a list or guideline of symptoms/diagnosis that is warranted to be life threatening hence an appropriate ER visit. I have reviewed the literature quite extensively, however, it is difficult to identify what are life threatening symptoms and diagnosis without a clinical background.

My questions here are
1) Are there resources that you can direct me to in order to help me ascertain what symptoms are warranted to be life threatening?
2) What are your thoughts about using discharge plans as means to identify urgent vs nonurgent cases at a primary care setting? Although the information is limited, it is the most convenient and immediate resource that the clinic has access to.

Any ideas or thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time!

Members don't see this ad.

It's going to be a case-by-case basis. And hard to make universal guidelines. In general the ER is good for acute issues or acute worsening of chronic issues. Chronic issues themselves are best managed in the primary care setting.

And half of the job of the ER is to figure out if there is something life-threatening going on. Just because we don't find anything doesn't mean the visit was inappropriate.

It's going to be a case-by-case basis. And hard to make universal guidelines. In general the ER is good for acute issues or acute worsening of chronic issues. Chronic issues themselves are best managed in the primary care setting.