Difficulties in creating a class I amalgam preparation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I'm a student and we just started working on class I amalgam preparations. I keep practicing but constantly get the same mediocre results.
The floors and walls of my preparations are always bumpy and I can't seem to fix it without eventually making the preparation too deep or too wide.

Does anyone have tips on how to improve that? Our school only allows us to use 330 burs.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone,
I'm a student and we just started working on class I amalgam preparations. I keep practicing but constantly get the same mediocre results.
The floors and walls of my preparations are always bumpy and I can't seem to fix it without eventually making the preparation too deep or too wide.

Does anyone have tips on how to improve that? Our school only allows us to use 330 burs.
Hello everyone,

Go over everything lightly with a 330 diamond on slow speed

Reactions: 1 users
I haven't done one of these in a long time...I will tell you that plastic teeth are tougher to make smooth, just my .02. It comes with time and developing a steady hand to make these preps to the desired dimensions and smooth. Keep practicing...I found that once you do enough...a brand new bur that cuts well with an air turbine and water, you can get really nice results. But to each their own...a new bur maybe scary to use at first because it will take away a lot of tooth structure if you're not careful.

Members don't see this ad :)
It’s harder to explain how to improve in this situation via a post but my advice would be to reach out to an upperclassmen that’s showing good operative skills so far. I reached out to an upperclassmen back in the day and it made a world of difference having some one on one time with them. I would get them a small gift card for lunch afterwards if so.