DO: 3.7 GPA, 21 MCAT, paramedic. What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oregonian89

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
My MCAT score is terrible. I'm so stressed. On the first MCAT, I had spent months studying, and when it came to take the test, I had to travel up to Seattle (from Eugene, OR) to take my exam. I was so nervous I made myself sick and I tanked the exam with a 21. After speaking with a DO student, she said the Kaplan style (which I studied with) didn't do well for her either, and she suggested a different study method. I changed my study techniques, took the MCAT 2 months later and ended up with an 18. I know, please, I know. I wish I knew what happened. I'm really hoping that my other factors will weigh in. Here are my stats:

GPA- 3.7
Paramedic degree
EMT experience
100+ hrs Teaching/volunteer experience
100+ hrs volunteering as a church leader

My #1 choice is COMP-Northwest in Lebanon, OR. What are my chances?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, other factors do play into DO admissions...
However, I believe that an 21/18 will be screened by admissions. I think it was a bad idea to take the MCAT just 2 months after...
Do you plan on retaking your MCAT? If you are....PM me. I will try to help you as much as I can....

I do not suggest you apply this cycle though.

Thanks for your response. I should have included that I've already applied to a variety of DO schools and received secondaries from:

COMP-Northwest
COMP-Pomona
Marian
VCOM
WVSOM
AZCOM
Alabama COM
ATSU-SOMA
Touro-Vallejo
PNWU-COM
University of New England COM
MSU-COM
LMU-COM
OU-HCOM

And yeah, I really regret taking it 2 months after. I was trying to hurry to get into this cycle early.

Members don't see this ad :)