Double Major? Is it Worth It??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The ACL Guy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I am a freshman undergrad wanting to eventually become an orthopedic surgeon. I am currently declared as having a double major, one in biology with a pre-medical emphasis, and one in Chemistry along with a minor in Math. I am curious, is having the double major going to be beneficial for me to get into medical school? I am considering dropping the second major and just being a biology major with a chemistry minor. My other option is to keep the double major and change to an exercise science minor. What are some of your thoughts on this? Keep in mind : I am trying to prevent myself from burning out in my undergrad before even getting to difficult medical school, secondly the college I am enrolled in does not have a very strong chemistry department. I do not want to overload myself with work if it is unnecessary. Any input is greatly appreciated!

If I choose to do one major, that being Biology, what should my minor(s) be? I would definitely want a chemistry minor, at the same time exercise science interests me because I am fascinated by the human body. Also math is a great subject that I have been good at and enjoyed my entire life. Is it crazy to minor in all three (Chemistry, Math, and Exercise Science)?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Totally up to you. Schools most likely do not care. Get a high GPA & MCAT and have good extracurricular activities.

I have one major and it's not even related to science. I've done well so far this application cycle.