Dr Nurses in Surgery (Anybody know this DNP in ENT at UMDNJ?)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

engineer24

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=100921215

http://www.umdnj.edu/umcweb/marketing_and_communications/publications/umdnj_magazine/fall2008/12.htm

"I can just imagine a patient of mine walking into my exam room and saying, 'Now Dr. Smith, are you a doctor doctor, or are you a doctor nurse?'"

"I am a doctorally prepared nurse," says doctor nurse Ray Scarpa. A doctor, he says, "is a doctorally prepared physician."

Scarpa works in the department of surgery at University Hospital in New Jersey. "I am not here to practice medicine, I am here to practice nursing," he says. "And I practice it at an advanced level, and I have earned the right to be called doctor."

For nursing students who begin right after college, it can take about six years to get the degree. While there is some overlap in knowledge, Scarpa says, doctors diagnose and treat while nurses have a wider focus including family, support and community

Scarpa believes the DNP degree will improve the stature of APNs in the workplace. “Nursing has changed so much over the past few decades,” he says. “What has been slower to change is how APNs are perceived. As nursing and medicine are separate professions, we’d like to see APNs functioning as equal members of the healthcare team, reporting to their peers. This will lead to better patient care.”

http://njms.umdnj.edu/departments/surgery/divisions/otolaryngology/faculty.cfm

This DNP thinks he's a surgeon and equivalent to a physician. He works in the ENT dept at UMDNJ.

Any residents there care to comment?

Why is this foolishness being tolerated? Where is the program director? Why are the faculty standing idly by why this punk makes up all kinds of unsubstantiated claims?